Skip to main content

University of Washington School of Public Health

Annual SPH Awards of Excellence

The SPH Awards recognize exemplary staff, faculty and students for their dedication, service, and many contributions to our School.

2016 School of Public Health Student, Faculty, and Staff Awards

Gilbert S. Omenn Award for Academic Excellence

Jean MorrisonPhD – Jean Morrison, Biostatistics
Jean Morrison’s work spans a wide range of topics in public health genetics with special attention to health outcomes in multi-ethnic and non-white populations. Outside of academic work, Jean makes meaningful and lasting contributions on the front lines of crisis services, supporting some of the most vulnerable individuals and communities – children living in homeless shelters, individuals experiencing emotional or mental health crisis, and LGBTQ students.

Farah MohamedMaster’s – Farah Mohamed, Global Health
Farah Mohamed received his UW Bachelor of Social Work in the spring of 2014 and immediately entered the Masters in Public Health and Masters in Social Work programs. Farah will graduate with both degrees in June, having been an active leader and exceptional student in both programs. Farah frames every public health problem through the lens of social justice. In his practicum at Health Alliance International (HAI), he used his natural networking talents to forge relationships between HAI and the Somali Health Board to ensure local immigrants and refugees have access to vital health and mental health services.

Anderson-O’Connell award for Outstanding Staff Service

Tory BrundageTory Brundage, Office of the Dean
Tory’s gregarious nature, calm and supportive demeanor, and “out-of-the-box” thinking have endeared him to colleagues and students alike. Tory oversees the SPH Student Center in Raitt Hall, acts as a liaison between the School and Upper Campus, and takes on additional projects – such as supporting the Dark Empire Exploration Seminar in London.

Outstanding Staff
Biostatistics – Marisa Honig
DEOHS – Elizabeth Guzy
Epidemiology – Erica MacArthur
Global Health – Aleta Elliott
Health Services – Lauren Brackenbury

Communicating Public Health to the Public
Megan Cartwright, DEOHS

Staff Community Service
Alexandra Kossik, DEOHS

Student Community Service
Daniele Meñez, Public Health Major

Outstanding TA
Jennifer Hubber, Epidemiology and Public Health Genetics

Outstanding Faculty Teaching
Ali Rowhani-Rahbar, Epidemiology

Outstanding Faculty Mentor
Megan Moreno, Health Services

Outstanding Undergraduate Students
Tracy Tran, Health Informatics and Health Information Management
Kristen Slodysko, Environmental Health
Marlena Norwood, Public Health

Outstanding Master’s Students
Biostatistics – Adam Brand
DEOHS – Shilpa Gowda
Epidemiology – Kerry Hancuch
Global Health – Alexandra “Allie” Wollum
Health Services – Maureen Lara
Interdisciplinary Programs – Shelly Johnston

Outstanding PhD Students
Biostatistics – Ashley Petersen
DEOHS – Jane Pouzou
Epidemiology – Lu Chen
Global Health – Laura Martinez
Health Services – David Kim

List of Recipients

2015, 2014, 2013, 2012 , past recipients