Practicum Advising & Supervision

Each student will be expected to work with the following individuals at different touchpoints of their Practicum. For questions about your Practicum project, Faculty Adviser, and Site Supervisor, contact Manager of Experiential Learning. For questions about registration, add codes, or credits being posted to transcripts, contact your Departmental Staff Adviser.


Practicum Faculty Adviser is a UWSPH faculty member who reviews and approves the learning contract, advises student on selecting a balanced set of practice-oriented, competency-based activities, and evaluates student’s overall practicum experience.

Site Supervisor is a public health practitioner affiliated with a public health organization who supervises the student’s work  on a day-to-day basis and evaluates the student in the practice setting throughout their practicum.

MPH Program Director is a UWSPH faculty member who provides curricular oversight and upholds the standards of practicum within their respective departments or programs. 

Departmental Staff Adviser is a department or program staff who collaborates with the Manager of Experiential Learning and Practicum Faculty Advisers on student advising and submits official credits for practicum.

Manager of Experiential Learning administers the practicum at the UWSPH, coordinates and advises all practicum participants to ensure a cohesive and engaging experience that meets practicum guidelines and complies with the CEPH accreditation requirements. Serves as the primary contact  for prospective practicum sites exploring opportunities with students.


Practicum Contacts

UW SPH Departments and Interdisciplinary Programs

Department/Program

MPH Program Director

Department/Program Staff Adviser

DEOHS

Tania Busch Isaksen
tania@uw.edu

Trina Sterry
ehgrad@uw.edu

Epidemiology

Steve Schwartz
stevesch@uw.edu

Kevin Schuda
epcourse@uw.edu

Global Health

Steve Gloyd
gloyd@uw.edu

Andreas Keodara
ghmphadv@uw.edu

Health Services

Clarence Spigner
cspigner@uw.edu

Emily Bernet
hservmph@uw.edu

Online MPH

Miruna Petrescu-Prahova
mirunapp@uw.edu

Christina Hughes
uwonlinemph@uw.edu

COPHP

Amy Hagopian
hagopian@uw.edu

Kathy Foster (interim)
uwcophp@uw.edu

Nutritional Sciences

Anne Lund
ael4@uw.edu

Susan Inman
gradnutr@uw.edu

Public Health Genetics

Bruce Weir
bsweir@uw.edu

Annique Atwater
phginfo@uw.edu

UW SPH Office of the Dean

Janet Baseman

Associate Dean for Public Health Practice, Professor of Epidemiologyjbaseman@uw.edu

Janice North

Manager of Experiential Learningjlnorth@uw.edusphpractice@uw.edu