SPH Stories

Featured stories about SPH people, research and impact.

Friday, June 12, 2009

Outstanding Staff Awards

  • Biostatistics—Carl Riches
  • Environmental and Occupational Health Sciences (DEOHS)—Brian High
  • Epidemiology—Duane Beekly
  • Global Health—Linda Barnes
  • Health Services—Bob Shimabukuro
  • Dean's Office—James Fesalbon
  • Kenneth J. Anderson Staff Award—Duane Beekly

Outstanding Student Awards

Monday, June 1, 2009

Rory Murphy, Graduate Program Assistant in our Department of Environmental and Occupational Health Sciences, was chosen by the Graduate School to receive their first annual Graduate Program Assistant (GPA) Service Award. Julia Carlson (Director, Graduate Education Services) said the committee decision was unanimous.

Wednesday, May 13, 2009

Frederick Rivara, MD, MPH was selected by the Alumni Advisory Board of the UW School of Public Health to receive the School's 2009 Distinguished Alumni Award.

Dr. Rivara, who received an MPH from the School's Department of Health Services in 1980, is currently the George Adkins Professor of Pediatrics for the UW School of Medicine, where he is also Vice Chair for Academic Affairs and Head of the General Division of the Department of Pediatrics. He is Adjunct Professor of Epidemiology in the School of Public Health.

Thursday, April 30, 2009

Tom Wickizer, UW Professor of Health Services, will deliver the School of Public Health's Spring Quarter Distinguished Faculty Lecture: Reflections on 10 years of Collaborative Research to Improve Health and Health Care for Injured Workers in Washington State. The lecture will be presented Monday, May 18, at 3:30 PM in T639 Health Sciences.

Wednesday, April 22, 2009

Dean Patricia Wahl will present the third annual Service Award for Community Partners to Alison Eisinger and Scott Morrow at the School's annual MPH Practicum Reception on May 19, 2009. Eisinger is executive director of the Seattle/King County Coalition on Homelessness (SKCCH); Morrow is a community organizer working with the Seattle Housing and Resource Effort (SHARE) and the Women's Housing, Equality and Enhancement League (WHEEL).

Tuesday, March 17, 2009

GlaxoSmithKline (GSK) and the University of Washington (UW) have announced a new collaboration in statistical genetics to aid the analysis of information from large genetic databases. The new alliance will use statistical approaches to rapidly analyze data and predict responses to new therapies. As a result of this alliance, the UW team will be able to use GSK's large genetic data sets and GSK will gain access to the UW's vast expertise in statistical genetics.

Friday, February 27, 2009

The UW School of Public Health (SPH) and the Student Public Health Association (SPHA) are seeking nominations for the third annual Service Award for Community Partners.

Thursday, November 6, 2008

On November 19, 2008, Professor Adam Drewnowski will give the Fall 2008 Distinguished Faculty Lecture: Food, Incomes, and Health.

The lecture will be presented at 4:00 PM in Room T639 in the Health Sciences Building. The Director of the UW Center for Public Health Nutrition, Drewnowski is also Professor of Epidemiology and Medicine, Director of the Center for Public Health Nutrition and the UW Center for Obesity Research, and a Joint Member of the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center.

Wednesday, October 8, 2008

On November 6, 2008, Professor Sir David Cox will present the third annual Norman E. Breslow Distinguished Lecture:

The Theory of Statistics: Some Challenges

The Lecture will be presented at 1:30 pm in Hogness Auditorium in the Health Sciences Building at UW. Refreshments will be served after the Lecture.

Friday, August 29, 2008

Clarita Lefthand, a Ph.D. student in the School's Department of Environmental and Occupational Health Sciences, has been awarded the prestigious Bullitt Environmental Prize for 2008. The Prize is given annually to an outstanding graduate student at a university in the Pacific Northwest.

Thursday, August 28, 2008

Deanna Kepka, MPH, an MCH student in the PhD Program in the Department of Health Services, was selected as an American Public Health Association (APHA) Maternal and Child Health Section Fellow for 2008-2009.

She is the program's first MCH section student fellow.

Friday, August 22, 2008

Clarita Lefthand, a PhD candidate in Environmental and Occupational Health Sciences at the University of Washington School of Public Health, has been selected to receive the second annual Bullitt Environmental Prize.

The prize, established in honor of Priscilla Bullitt Collins, the late chair of the Bullitt Foundation, carries a cash award of $100,000, distributed over two years. The awards ceremony will be on September 9, 2008.

Monday, August 11, 2008

Kenneth Sherr was one of five scientists honored with a Young Investigator Award at the 2008 Global AIDS Conference in Mexico City on August 7. Sherr is a Clinical Assistant Professor in our Department of Global Health. National Director for our Health Alliance International projects in Mozambique, and a doctoral student in Epidemiology.

Wednesday, July 9, 2008

At the School's Annual Awards Ceremony and Graduation Celebration on June 13, Dean Wahl presented the following School-wide awards:

Thursday, June 19, 2008

Eight outstanding University of Washington students from a variety of disciplines are the first recipients of the Thomas Francis Jr., Global Health Fund Endowed Student Fellowship. The fellowship promotes global health by providing financial assistance to students doing problem-solving practica in other cultures, usually developing countries.

Beginning summer 2008, fellows will undertake the following projects around the globe:

Monday, May 12, 2008

Dean Patricia Wahl presented the second annual Service Award for Community Partners to Karen Hartfield at the School's annual MPH Practicum Reception on May 8, 2008. Hartfield, an HIV prevention planner and lecturer in health communication in the School of Public Health, coordinates the Health Department's practicum placement efforts and accepted the award on behalf of the agency.

Monday, May 12, 2008

Ward Hinds, MD has been selected by the Alumni Advisory Board of the UW School of Public Health and Community Medicine to receive the School's 2008 Distinguished Alumni Award.

Dr. Hinds received his MPH from the School's Department of Epidemiology in 1975, and he recently retired as Health Officer of the Snohomish Health District, a post he held since 1986.

Wednesday, May 7, 2008
Author and New York Times Reporter David Cay Johnston spoke on "Inequality, the Vast Majority, and Health" in his 2008 Gloyd Lecture. Mr. Johnston's latest book is titled Free Lunch: How the Wealthiest Americans Enrich Themselves at Government Expense (and Stick You With the Bill). He also wrote the 2004 best seller, Perfectly Legal: The Covert Campaign to Rig Our Tax System to Benefit the Super Rich--and Cheat Everybody Else.
Tuesday, April 22, 2008

The Student Public Health Association (SPHA) is soliciting nominations for the School's annual awards for Outstanding Mentor, Outstanding Teacher, Outstanding TA, and Student Community Service. Use the Catalyst tools listed below to nominate your favorites by MAY 13, 2008.

Thursday, March 27, 2008

Courtney Rees is a second-year student in the Health Services Research doctoral program. Recently she was named one of six 2008-09 Magnuson Scholars (one for each Health Sciences School). As an award recipient, she will receive $30,000 to support her studies and research.